Cezanne’s doubt – Maurice Merleau-Ponty

 

Image result for cezannes landscapes

Image result for cezannes landscapes

For my dissertation proposal, I read ‘Cezanne’s doubt’ by Maurice Merleau-Ponty and it helped to inspire my subject work, as Maurice talks about the way Cezanne viewed and portrayed nature and landscapes.

These are just a few of the quotes that inspired the style of my work.

 

‘Of nature, he said, “the artist must conform to this perfect work of art. Everything comes to us from nature; we exist through it; nothing else is worth remembering.”‘

‘He was pursuing reality without giving up the sensuous surface, with no other guide than the immediate impression of nature, without following the contours, with no outline to enclose the colour, with no perspectival or pictorial arrangement.’

‘But this interpretation should not be a reflection distinct from the act of seeing.’

 

Author: alannah3012l5

I am a landscape painter who enjoys spending free time exploring and wandering through natural landscapes, understanding that the space I occupy in this world is tiny and temporary. The aim of my paintings is to evoke the same sense of wonder in the viewer that I experience while on my travels and to ignite the realisation that compared to our surroundings, we are miniscule and blend in, we are not above, nor do we have any higher importance than any other being or thing on this planet. My large oil paintings are designed to be displayed outdoors after being inspired by Katherine Grosse in the Venice Biennale, making them appear small in their surroundings, much like the people in them and the people viewing them. However, my zines and watercolours require more attention, showing that even smaller details contain whole worlds and landscapes of their own. Depending on our own experiences we see the prints differently. The text along with the images encourage the viewer to see the same landscape I see.

Leave a Reply

