Sunrise over the mountains

IMG_6732.JPG

 

This is inspired by more than one trip I had been on. It began based on my visit to Snowdonia where I spent a night sleeping on a park bench and woke up to a beautiful sunset while surrounded by mountains. This was another key moment where I felt small when compared to the rest of the world and wanted to show this in a painting. However, shortly after this trip, I was on a plane to Luxembourg as the sun was setting and from my window I could see a whole range of colours, changing drastically from each direction. I wanted to try and portray the colour changes in this painting, where it goes from blue to pink to yellow very quickly. Again, at this point, I felt tiny compared to my surroundings and completely in awe at the sight in front of me. Using these two trips, I wanted to portray my emotions in one painting, so that when the viewer looks at it, they too feel tiny and in awe at the surroundings and the colours around them.

Using techniques picked up from creating my other paintings, such as wide brush strokes with full arm movements, and splashes of colour to represent the mismatch of memories rather than a photographic painting, I feel as though I have captured the emotion of being completely immersed in a sky of colour, similar to the feelings I had over the course of these trips, sharing with the viewer what it feels like to be spatially aware of the surroundings and the small space we occupy in this world.

I have painted this purely based on memory with no photo reference, because of this, I cannot be certain of the placement of mountains or where they meet the sky. (This, and I wasn’t wearing my glasses at the time). With this factor, and the feeling of the sky washing over me, I feel that having the colours within the painting blur in together diagonally, is a more accurate presentation of my experience on this particular trip.

Author: alannah3012l5

I am a landscape painter who enjoys spending free time exploring and wandering through natural landscapes, understanding that the space I occupy in this world is tiny and temporary. The aim of my paintings is to evoke the same sense of wonder in the viewer that I experience while on my travels and to ignite the realisation that compared to our surroundings, we are miniscule and blend in, we are not above, nor do we have any higher importance than any other being or thing on this planet. My large oil paintings are designed to be displayed outdoors after being inspired by Katherine Grosse in the Venice Biennale, making them appear small in their surroundings, much like the people in them and the people viewing them. However, my zines and watercolours require more attention, showing that even smaller details contain whole worlds and landscapes of their own. Depending on our own experiences we see the prints differently. The text along with the images encourage the viewer to see the same landscape I see.

Leave a Reply

